If I Were Mayor Essay Contest

Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Our fu​ture mayors of our cities are in classrooms today. The education they receive helps them to become good citizens – and good mayors. In August each year, the Iowa League of Cities launches the “If I Were Mayor…” essay contest for 7th graders. The contest is promoted to 7th grade English and Social Studies teachers. A winning essay will be selected in each of the state’s congressional districts. District winners will receive a $250 college scholarship, while one grand prize winner will be selected to represent the entire state and receive a total of $500 to use towards college.​​​ 

Promoting good city government is important to the Iowa League of Cities, and this essay contest provides students the opportunity to reflect on the role of the key elected official in their own city. This contest is sponsored by Snyder & Associates​

If I Were Mayor Essay Contest Winners

Congratulations to all of our award winners.

2023Amelia EapenIowa City Community School District
2023Bristol MillerCedar Falls Community School District
2023Abi HemesathWest Des Moines Community School District
2023Mirabel AbrahamCarroll Community School District
2022Aden LiebMaharishi School
2022Brianna Gage Alburnett School
2022Mara Elliott West Des Moines School
2022Kaylee Meyers Underwood Community School
2021Angely VasquezCedar Valley Catholic School
2021Maylen ZauggMediapolis Community School
2021Lacey WeedaMount Ayr School
2021Sean WuGilbert Middle School
2020Addison WintersLansing Middle School
2020Finn O’TooleNorth Central Junior High
2020Peyton BeeckHinton Middle School
2020Ryan MeyerInterstate 35 Middle School
2019Avery WhiteHinton Middle School
2019Clara WaldronVan Meter School
2019Kevin AshbacherLansing Middle School
2019Rowan SchererMaharishi School
2018 Adin HuetWest Central Valley
2018Alyssa FerdigWaco High School
2018Ella StrandOelwein Middle School
2018Larae SteinerMediapolis Middle School
2018Megan DunlapEmmetsburg Catholic School
2017Brianna HargraveMarshalltown Christian School
2017Gabriella DeeryNotre Dame Middle School (Burlington)
2017Taylor BuckleyBondurant-Farrar Middle School
2017Zach SypersmaHinton Community School
2016Anna HoffmanMount Vernon Middle School
2016Ellen McDonoughSt. Augustin School
2016Emily SmallHinton Community School
2016Thaddeus ShetlerMid-Prairie Middle School
2015Emma MartinTripoli Community Schools
2015Holly DierenfieldStorm Lake Middle School
2015Kayden J. RezacTipton Middle School
2015Rylee KrantzWest Central Valley Middle School (Stuart)
2014Autumn GadouaNishnabotna Middle School (Hamburg)
2014Kira ParkisSt. Lawrence Center (Carroll))
2014Kyleigh GrahamMid-Prairie Middle School (Student from Wellman)
2014Olivia FransenEleanor Roosevelt Middle School (Dubuque)
IOWA League