Minutes

Iowa League of Cities Executive Board
Meeting by Electronic Means (Video Conference)
Wednesday, February 17, 2021
10 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Present on phone: Quentin Hart, President

Tom Lazio, Immediate Past President Scott Naumann, Past President John Lundell, Past President

David Jones, Director
Dawn Meyer, Director
Chris Taylor, Director
Shirley McAdon, Director
Corrin Spiegel, Director
Tim Schmidt, Director
Ashley Vanorny, Director
Brad Cavanagh, Director
Michael Holton, Director
John Haila, Director
Scott Wynja, Director
Greg Piklapp, Director

Absent: Donny Hobbs, President-elect

Tom Cope, Director Al Roder, Director

Also Present: Alan Kemp, Executive Director

Shannon Busby, Office Manager Jeff Hovey, Director of Risk Services Alison Deiter, Senior Accountant Dana Monosmith, Controller

Robert Palmer, General Counsel and Director of Government Affairs

Heather Roberts, Director of Information Services Mickey Shields, Director of Membership Services

Erin Mullenix, Research Director

Jessica Vogel, Communications Coordinator Alejandra Piers-Torres, National League of Cities Ashley Shirwarski, NLC Service Line Warranty Monica Stone, Iowa Department of Human Rights

1. Call to Order

President Hart called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

2. Consent Agenda

It was <u>moved by Director Cavanagh</u> and seconded by Director Haila to approve the consent agenda, which included the minutes of the November 12, 2020 meeting of the Executive Board, League Associate Applications, and the membership and investment reports. Motion approved.

3. Financial Report

After the senior accountant reviewed the October 2020 financial reports, it was moved by Director Taylor and seconded by Director Schmidt to approve the reports. Motion approved. Director Haila asked if more current financial reports could be presented to the board. Executive Director indicated that the accounting staff would review the current process and report to the board before the next meeting.

4. Appointment to the MFPRSI Board of Trustees

The President recommended the re-appointment of Laura Schaefer, City Clerk/Finance Director in Carroll to another four-year term on the Municipal Fire and Police Retirement System of Iowa (MFPRSI) Board of Trustees. It was <u>moved by Immediate Past President Lazio</u> and seconded by Director Holton to ratify the appointment. Motion approved.

5. COVID-19 Impact on League's Training Financials

The director of membership services and the senior accountant provided an overview of the impact that virtual training had on the League's workshop and conference financials. They indicated that the League is planning to incorporate offering virtual workshops for all its training options moving forward.

6. 2021 Legislative Update

The general counsel and director of government relations provided an update on the 2021 legislative session.

7. National League of Cities and Federal Legislative Update

Alejandra Piers-Torres, Member Engagement Manager for the National League of Cities provided the board with an update on federal issues and the National League of Cities.

8. Update – NLC Service Line Warranty Program

Ashley Shirwarski, Director, Business Development for the NLC Service Line Warranty Program, gave an update on the status of this endorsed program.

9. Iowa Talent Bank

Monica Stone, Deputy Director of the Iowa Department of Human Rights, provided an overview on the online registration tool that has been developed to assist the state and local governments attract individuals to serve on committees and boards.

10. Review of Strategic Initiatives

The executive director provided an overview of the League's Strategic Initiatives.

11. League Website Update

The director of information services gave an update on the status of the website initiative.

12. Other Business and Next Meeting

The board also discussed consideration of an actuary study to help determine the impacts of proposed in legislation to MFPRSI; vaccination of essential and licensed operators; and the development of Zoom best practices. The next meeting of the Executive Board is scheduled for Thursday, April 22, 2021.

13. Adjourn

President Hart adjourned the executive board meeting at 12:24 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

ala W. Keys

Alan W. Kemp

Executive Director