Minutes

Iowa League of Cities Executive Board Thursday, August 11, 2022 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Ruth Randleman, Past President Scott Wynja, Director Brian Wagner, Director Susan Sembach, Director Present on phone: Scott Naumann, Past President Shirley McAdon, Director Ashley Vanorny, Director Michael Holton, Director Bruce Perry, Director Courtney Clarke, Director Corrin Spiegel, Director Absent: Quentin Hart, Immediate Past President John Haila, President-Elect Tom Cope, Director Aaron Burnett, Director Tim Schmidt, Director Brad Cavanagh, Director Chris Taylor, Director Also Present: Alan Kemp, Executive Director Shannon Busby, Office Manager Alison Deiter, Senior Accountant Robert Palmer, General Counsel and Director of Government Affairs Mickey Shields, Director of Membership Services Heather Roberts, Director of Information Services Erin Mullenix, Research Director Katie Wheeler, Business Relations Coordinator Jessica Vogel, Communications Coordinator Dana Monosmith, Controller Jeff Hovey, Director of Risk Services Amanda Trebon Boyd, Membership Services Coordinator

Donny Hobbs, President

1. Call to Order

Present :

President Hobbs called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

2. Consent Agenda

It was <u>moved by Past President Randleman</u> and seconded by Director Wyjna to approve the consent agenda, which included the minutes of the June 23, 2022 meeting of the Executive Board, League Associate Applications, the membership and investment reports. Motion approved.

3. GRANTFINDER Grant Assistance Program

The director of membership services requested approval for an updated, multiyear contract with Lexipol, the company providing the Grantfinder grant assistance program. It was <u>moved by</u> <u>Director Wyjna</u> and seconded by Past President Randleman to approve the contract. Motion approved.

4. Agreement with de Novo Marketing for City Awareness Project

The director of membership services presented agreement with de Novo Marketing for approval. The agreement is for a package of videos and other materials for League members to utilize to promote the positive impact cities have on citizens, which will help accomplish one of the core strategic planning initiatives. It was <u>moved by Past President Randleman</u> and seconded by Director Clarke to approve the contract. Motion approved.

5. Financial Report

After the senior accountant reviewed the June 2022 financial report it was <u>moved by Director</u> <u>Vanorny</u> and seconded by Director Perry to approve the report. Motion approved.

6. League Training Budget Report

The senior accountant reviewed the year-end training budget.

7. Annual Conference and Exhibit

The director of membership services provided an update on the League's Annual Conference and Exhibit.

8. Review of Fall Training Events

The communications coordinator provided a review of the training events the League will host later this year, including Budget Workshops and the Iowa Municipal Attorneys Association CLE Seminar.

9. Legislative Values

The general counsel presented the League legislative values as recommended by the Policy Committee. It was <u>moved by Director Perry</u> and seconded by Director Vanorny to approve the values as presented. Motion approved. These values will be presented to the membership for adoption at the Annual Business Meeting.

10. Proposed Legislative Service Awards Recipients 2022

It was moved by <u>Director Vanorny</u> and seconded by Director Perry to present the award to the four individuals recommended by the general counsel and director of government affairs. Motion approved.

11. Appointment to the Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust

President Hobbs sought approval for the appointment of Brent Hinson, Deputy City Administrator/Finance Director for Mason City to serve the remainder of Michelle Wiedner's term on the Board of Directors of the Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust (IPAIT). It was <u>moved</u> <u>by Director Wyjna</u> and seconded by Past President Randleman to approve the appointment. Motion approved.

12. Appointment to the MFPRSI Board of Trustees

President Hobbs recommended appointment of Jennifer Sease, Director of Administrative Services for the city of Ankeny to serve the remainder of Michelle Wiedner's term on the Municipal Fire and Police Retirement System of Iowa Board of Trustees. It was <u>moved by Past</u> <u>President Randleman</u> and seconded by Director Wynja to approve the appointment. Motion approved.

13. League Committee Reports

Committee reports are submitted for review and discussion.

A. Nominating Committee

President Hobbs formally announced the slate of officers and directors that will be submitted to the membership at the Annual Business Meeting. The slate of officers is not subject to ratification of the board and no action was taken.

B. Awards Committee

President Hobbs presented the recommendations for the Hall of Fame Award and the Rhonda Wood Smith Award. It was <u>moved by Director Vanorny</u> and seconded by Past President Randleman to approve the recommendations. Motion approved.

14. Iowa Emergency Management Association (IEMA) Presentation

Robert Kempf, IEMA President and Adair & Guthrie County Emergency Management Coordinator and Sean Snyder, Emergency Management Coordinator for Winneshiek County provided the board with an overview of the association and how cities, the League and the IEMA can work more closely together.

15. Strategic Initiatives Tracking

The executive director presented an update on the strategic initiatives.

16. Schedule 2023 and Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Executive Board will be November 10, 2022 at the Iowa League of Cities office.

17. Recognition of Directors

The President recognized the contributions of those members of the Executive Board who are leaving the board.

18. Other Business

19. Adjourn The executive board adjourned at 1:06 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

ala W. Teys

Alan W. Kemp Executive Director